Beginning the day with a magical hummingbird


I love the way that Janet Weight Reed starts her creative day by painting a watercolor of one of her magical hummingbirds! Who needs to start the day out listening to nerve wracking news anyways. 🙂

My Life as an Artist (2)

It is important for me to have rhythm and structure in my life.      These two elements allow me the freedom to create.    I have also learned that the way I begin my day is vital.

Image I used to listen to the BBC news first thing, and realised that it was 99% negative and designed to ignite fear and anxiety in the listener.

ImageI now listen to soothing music for the first hour or two while either writing or doing a warm up watercolour.

ImageToday I start with painting a gentle magical hummingbird.     I have used hummingbird imagery in my paintings for over thirty years.    They symbolise for me the unseen magic in our world.

ImageI am using watercolour paper with a neutral ground which I applied some time ago.    Remember when working from a ground…it is important to…

View original post 150 more words

Leave a Reply

